Category: Uncategorized

With Further Ado #274: The Utopian Paradise… in a Mall – Logan’s Run

With Further Ado #274: The Utopian Paradise… in a Mall – Logan’s Run

Wouldn’t it be great to live a life without worry? A life only dedicated only to pleasure?

Before you sign up there’s one non-negotiable rule… and it’s probably a dealbreaker. You would have to live your wonderful life in mall.

That wasn’t quite the ethical conundrum that MGM and the producers were shooting for back in the mid-70s when they were developing Logan’s Run. The film’s actual premise was that you could live a hedonistic life, but when you turned 30, the gig was up. In this movie, you would give up your life in a ritualistic sacrifice that “probably” led to reincarnation – they called it Renewal – but hey, you never knew for sure. There was no proof, and you had to take it on faith.
In the mid 1970s, someone at MGM had the brilliant, albeit misguided, idea that they could represent the future year of 2274 by shooting on location in the new Dallas Market Center mall.

And what a future it was. Everyone was dressed as if the hippy movement collided with ancient Roman toga makers. The world – which was really that mall – was clean, bright and vapidly optimistic. There were no parenting duties there either. Babies were born and raised in the system. In Logan’s world, the futuristic version of Tinder even comes with a delivery service. Continue reading “With Further Ado #274: The Utopian Paradise… in a Mall – Logan’s Run”

With Further Ado #256: The Not-So-Secret Origin of San Diego Comic-Con

With Further Ado #256: The Not-So-Secret Origin of San Diego Comic-Con

San Diego Comic-Con, also called Comic-Con International, is just about upon us. Like every other year, I’m sure it will be a celebration of creativity and marketing, of sincerity and flim-flammery, of personal triumphs and corporate chest-thumping. The industry of comics can be inclusive and supportive -more so than so many other industries. It’s no secret that it’s been good to me, and I love so many of the folks involved.

Are you going? Hope to see you there! My panel schedule is at the end of this week’s column.

In the meantime, I wanted to take another bite of the apple from Mat Klickstein and his amazing book – See You At San Diego: An Oral History of Comic-Con, Fandom, and the Triumph of Geek Culture. You might also know Mat from his recent AfterShock comic, You Are Obsolete (which was creepy & fun).

We devoted a With Further Ado column to this book months ago so you might remember how this excellent book detailed the early days of San Diego Comic-Con. He’s been getting recent fan press about it all, so here’s a few more thoughts from Mat Klickstein on his book: Continue reading “With Further Ado #256: The Not-So-Secret Origin of San Diego Comic-Con”

Preview Review: It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth by Zoe Thorogood

Preview Review: It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth by Zoe Thorogood

We have an extra Preview Review this week. This is for the graphic novel It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth that is released today from Image Comics.

It is on our list of Special and One-Shot releases for November that you can find here.

This book is available at your LCS now.


It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth
Image Comics
Written by Zoe Thorogood
Art by Thorogood
Cover Art by Thorogood

ORIGINAL SOLICITATION

Cartoonist ZOE THOROGOOD records six months of her own life as it falls apart in a desperate attempt to put it back together again in the only way she knows how. IT’S LONELY AT THE CENTRE OF THE EARTH is an intimate metanarrative that looks into the life of a selfish artist who must create for her own survival.

A poignant, slice-of-life-style story perfect for fans of Adrian Tomine’s The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Cartoonist.

PCS REVIEW

Before I get into talking about this absolutley stunning book, I want to share a story. I went to Fan Expo Philadelphia this year and was excited that Zoe Thorogood was going to be there. Rain, the book that introduced her to me, was still coming out, and I wanted to let her know in-person how amazing I thought it was. I had briefly encountered Zoe a few weeks earlier at a different con, but I wanted to see her again and buy something from her, if she was selling. I think she is a fantastic artist.

So, at the Philly show, Zoe was on a panel talking about her art and her previous book The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott. I found her to be charming and interesting. She handled herself wonderfully on the panel. I wanted to make a point to go to her table during the show to buy Billie from her and let her know what a great job she was doing. I went past her table several times over the next couple of days but never seemed to connect with her. I regret that. But after reading this book, I am not surprised by the missed connection. This story isn’t all that interesting, but it happened, and recording reality in its purest form is what this book is all about. Continue reading “Preview Review: It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth by Zoe Thorogood”

As Is: Covid and Religious Freedom

You want to know how it will be. Me and him or you and me. You both stand there your long hair flowing, your eyes alive your mind still growing, saying to me “What can we do now that we both love you?” I love you too. I don’t really see why can’t we go on as three.” Triad, by David Crosby, 1970.

One of the many truly stupid reasons some people use to avoid getting the Covid vaccine (and, wait for it, the forthcoming booster shots) is that it infringes their right to religious freedom.

Well, so much for that “thou shalt not kill” crap. No needles for these hypocrites!

Be that as it may, the entire freedom of religion thing always is defined by whose ox is being gored. Often, this is an argument with severe limitations: people are really complaining about their religious freedom being infringed. Yours? Screw you, pal. Your religion is wrong, my religion is right, so go fry in my definition of hell.

You can’t reality-test religion – by definition, a person’s beliefs are a matter of faith and not proven fact. For example, there are religions that hold ritual human sacrifice to be part of their canon. Yet we here in America, as well as in several other nations, tend to frown upon ritual human sacrifice no matter what an individual’s belief structure might be.

How about polygamy? As far as I can tell, this, too, is frowned upon here in America, as well as in several other nations, even among consenting adults. In my book, religion has nothing to do with polygamy: if everybody is an adult and is completely consenting, it’s nobody else’s business. Besides, without the concept of polygamy we probably wouldn’t have Wonder Woman.

Nonetheless, various large religious groups sanction polygamy. Various Buddhist, Islamic, and Hindu denominations are perfectly okay with it. Of course, here in the United States and elsewhere, there is The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, a.k.a. the Mormons. They only “abandoned” polygamy in 1904 because they were being chased out of most of what was America at the time. Still, according to television reality shows, such multi-partnered relationships still exist among the faithful.

Sigh. So many men are afraid some other dude is gonna score on “their” pussy.

Okay. Having said this, perhaps you understand why this whole “getting the vaccine violates my religious freedom” thing is bullshit. We violate people’s religious freedom every hour of every day, usually by a perception of general acceptance. Blue laws violate other people’s religious freedom.

Covid is killing us. Covid-19 offed at least four million people worldwide. Covid-21 is rapidly turning back the clock. According to the CDC – which the anti-vaxxers consider a Socialist plot – 64,317 new cases of Covid were reported the week before last and the number is increasing rapidly… once again.

And that’s just the Delta variant. Imagine when we get up to Omega.

All this boils down to something quite simple. Some people who are refusing to get vaccinated are guilty of attempted manslaughter. Others, either knowingly, unknowingly or out of astonishing self-centered self-righteousness, are absolutely guilty of manslaughter. We should toss these people in prison and do so immediately.

Let’s see how long it takes for them to get the jab.

Join Host Bob Harrison for a Creator Owned Comic Panel Now

Join Host Bob Harrison for a Creator Owned Comic Panel Now

Our own Bob Harrison will be hosting a virtual panel from the Gem City Comic Con virtual event on Sunday 3/21/2021 at 2:15. Guests include comic creators: Thom Zahler, Christy Blanch, Paul Storrie, Tony Fleecs, and Emily Whitten.

The panel is being broadcast live on Facebook and YouTube.

You can find the Facebook page for the Con here:

https://www.facebook.com/GCCCON

The YouTube broadcast is below:

 

Happy Valentine’s Day 2020

Hey there Squad Members.

Yes it is Valentine’s Day once again. We thought we would give you a little slideshow of some of our favorite comic book couples. This is of course not an inclusive list. Let us know your favorites in the comments.

Enjoy!

  • Reed and Susan Richards - Art by Alex Ross

What the heck is happening at Heavy Metal? Or Deadspin or media in general?

On Tuesday, a week after CEO Jeff Krelitz’s departure was announced, an editor at Heavy Metal made public her reasons for leaving the company and we learned that Heavy Metal doesn’t have an HR Department.

The spectres Hannah Means-Shannon raises with naming her reasons for leaving are troubling. The idea that a company is trying to lockdown materials they do not own is a questionable practice in and of itself, but the additional pressure that was brought to bear creating a toxic work environment for Ms. Means-Shannon may belie an even more worrisome corporate culture at work at the Heavy Metal offices…

Continue reading “What the heck is happening at Heavy Metal? Or Deadspin or media in general?”